The Font

Got an opinion on this bar? Why not write a review

Has this bar closed down or changed name?  Let us know

Are you the Licencee? Click here

Union St, The Lanes,  Brighton & Hove

BN1 1HA

01273 747727

Area of Brighton & Hove: City Centre


This pub is included in 49 user created pub crawls

See user created pub crawls in Brighton & Hove

Photo of The Font
Think you've got a better photo? [Upload a photo]
Show Pub Using Street View

Facilities

  • Serves FoodServes Food
  • Has a Pool TablePool Table
  • Big ScreenHas A Big Screen TV(s)
  • Children WelcomeChildren Welcome
  • Disabled AccessDisabled Access
  • Serves CocktailsServes Cocktails
  • AmusementsAmusements
  • DancefloorDancefloor
  • DJsDJs

Are the facilities incorrect?  Edit them!

Ratings

Your Ratings
Overall:
4.0/5 (69 Votes)
1 5
Food:
3.6/5 (62 Votes)
1 5
Atmosphere:
4.2/5 (69 Votes)
1 5
Beer Quality:
3.9/5 (65 Votes)
1 5
Drinks Selection:

(real ales, wine etc)

4.2/5 (66 Votes)
1 5

Reviews

18/03/2013 16:00:21

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

Don't go in here, you won't get let in if your in a group of 3 or more as the bouncers think there big time but are so scared that it might kick off cause it means they might have to actually do something. As well as this you'll get ID'd at the bar even if your not drinking and your 28 years old... Crazy! Shit place and your better off going to the seven stars opposite who are warm and friendly and will let you in.

[report for removal]  

18/09/2012 03:02:20

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

Best stylish cocktail bar in Brighton, Didn't realise it is the same company as browns just round the corner but half the price. Didn't eat but food looked good will try next time I'm down in Brighton

[report for removal]  

13/05/2012 13:25:04

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

Come down for my hen weekend, ended up in here Friday on our little pub crawl, loved it so much spent the whole night on saturday in here. Absolutely amazing service, the staff looked after us all night and remembered all our drinks, just wanted to say thank you to all that was working those two nights. Will be back soon

[report for removal]  

03/05/2012 02:17:00

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

This place is cheaper then McDonald's for food!! Well I think so, because I wouldn't eat in places like that.! No seriously go there like 2 meals for £6 or buy one get for £1 amazing!!!!!!! I cannot stress enough x

[report for removal]  

27/04/2012 02:07:10

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

SUCH A COOL BAR..

Best place to pre-drink or stay and dance till 2am if your not fancying moving on to a club!!

Cheap too

[report for removal]  

23/04/2012 01:33:37

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

Love this bar! Love the staff! Love the prices! Love the food!

That will be all......

[report for removal]  

20/04/2012 14:19:20

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

Gone from being a horrible sports venue with bad service, not very nice food and rowdy idiot blokes

To a very friendly (GAY FRIENDLY) bar with great food still the great drink deals and lovely staff

CHECK IT OUT

[report for removal]  

07/07/2011 20:53:21

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

I would say this is the best bar in Brighton, I go there all the time. It's a lovely converted church with great big sofas very relaxing.

Drinks are extremely cheap & so is the food but good quality.

The staff are very nice too :)

I <3 FönT :-D

[report for removal]  

11/05/2011 16:28:27

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

fav place in brighton

[report for removal]  

18/04/2011 04:43:03

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

Taken me bloody ages to find this pub, and no way was it a disappointment! Great crowd of people and drinks where dirt cheap, £2 a pint think it was on a Friday.. Brilliant. Will be going back soon!!

[report for removal]  

18/04/2011 04:36:22

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

£1.25 drinks every Tuesday Sooo cheap! Amazing atmosphear

[report for removal]  

12/04/2011 04:19:01

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

Wow this pub has changed alot! Not been here for years. Great job they have done. Better crowd of people now adays think they have stopped showing football. Still

busy tho. Check it out

[report for removal]  

07/02/2011 17:20:14

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

Amazing looking venue in an old church, on Tuesday's the drinks are dirt cheap starting from 1.25 for Jager bombs and pints! The music was wicked too playing a mixture of everything from house, dubstep, dnb and everything between with DJ Christian White. Great place to start the night 5 stars!

[report for removal]  

01/10/2010 03:11:41

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

1.25 drinks Tuesdays......... 2.99 glass or £7 a pitcher on all cocktails Thursdays...... £1.99 *double* smirnoff/barcardi & pepsi Fridays.......... £1.99 pint becks/ bud or cosmo & any bottle of blossom hill £5.99 5 till close *EVERY DAY* amazing if you ask me so soooo cheap food deals all good too..,,,,, 2 for £5 on meals during the day till 5 and then, (yeah there's more) any pizza or burger and drink for £5 after 5pm till late,,, get your arse's there people!!!!!

CHEAPEST &&& BEST PLACE TO BE IN BRIGHTON!

[report for removal]  

11/09/2010 18:48:48

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

Great prices; good value for money. Food also fine. Good mixture of customers.

[report for removal]  

23/05/2010 11:17:08

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

Great pub - unusual setting ---but who was the big guy with the bandana/goatee being photgraphed behing the bar early evening yesterday. He seemed familiar

[report for removal]  

26/01/2010 15:33:15

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

Great place to go Saturday night.

[report for removal]  

26/01/2010 15:21:50

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

Cheap decent food 2 meals for £5 and 2-1 pizzas all day every every day. £1.99 full breakfast

[report for removal]  

14/12/2009 10:20:21

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

Came for a week to Brighton seriously recommend this pub so cheap 1.25 how can you go wrong. Great atmosphear what a night!

[report for removal]  

14/12/2009 10:00:23

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

Visited this amazing converted church pub today what an amazing pub, was rather cheap considering the portions of food you get. Seems to be some bad reviews on the service, but the young guy that was working was rather helpfull. Very welcoming if you ask me! Go and have a look even if you don't stay for food/drink

[report for removal]  

19/07/2009 18:36:27

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

from working here for a while i can tell you why the people experienced the problems.

unfortunately the system used in regards to the food means food is cooked in the order of which it comes through the system. The long wait is probably down to the kitchen staff. However, how people can complain when they are getting two meals for a fiver is beyond me, tight if you ask me.

Bar staff are only rude when the customer is rude, fair and simple.

awesome weekday with students, just as good at the weekends. best place in brighton to watch sport, or predrink before moving onto brightons big clubs.

[report for removal]  

27/01/2009 14:02:49

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

I Love the Font...

Whenever i am in Brighton i will head there whether it be for lunch drinks or a night out.

Food is reasonable drinks are too.and atmosphere fri and sat nights is brilliant.

[report for removal]  

27/11/2008 10:09:46

Reviewed by:
dstoby

if you like football and beer .then this is the pub!!

[report for removal]  

02/06/2008 18:02:41

Reviewed by:
BeerMatt

Large 2 storey bar in the south laines. Screens all over the place showing sports, in fact you can sit on a stools upstairs with personal screens.

[report for removal]  


Beer Hawke