The Font

Previously Named:  The Leicester Gateway

Got an opinion on this bar? Why not write a review

Has this bar closed down or changed name?  Let us know

Are you the Licencee? Click here

52 Gateway Street,  Leicester

LE2 7DP

01163198875

www.thefontpub.co.uk

Area of Leicester: West End


See user created pub crawls in Leicester

Photo of The Font
Think you've got a better photo? [Upload a photo]
Show Pub Using Street View

Facilities

  • Serves FoodServes Food
  • Has Live MusicLive Music
  • Has Quiz NightsQuiz Night (Various Days)
  • Disabled AccessDisabled Access
  • Free WIFIWIFI
  • Serves CocktailsServes Cocktails
  • DancefloorDancefloor
  • DJsDJs
  • Live ComedyLive Comedy

Are the facilities incorrect?  Edit them!

Ratings

Your Ratings
Overall:
4.8/5 (20 Votes)
1 5
Food:
4.9/5 (21 Votes)
1 5
Atmosphere:
4.9/5 (20 Votes)
1 5
Beer Quality:
4.9/5 (20 Votes)
1 5
Drinks Selection:

(real ales, wine etc)

4.8/5 (20 Votes)
1 5

Near By Pubs

Nearest first: Sir Robert Peel, Swan and Rushes, The Polar Bear

Looking for a Hotel near The Font? How about something to eat?

Reviews

28/04/2012 05:36:10

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

Thankyou so much for supporting critical mass. It has been an amazing help and so welcome at the end of a long, exciting ride.

[report for removal]  

26/04/2012 21:51:58

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

The place is great! Good food, nice drinks and the best sunday roast in town. In no way pretentious, just a chilled out place to relax after a long week.

[report for removal]  

26/04/2012 17:52:49

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

I love the place! I only drink where I feel welcome and there are few places as welcoming as this. The staff are friendly and accommodating, the drinks and food are top quality and feel I always get good value for money and not fleeced so I certainly intend to keep going. Many places start this way but slowly hike prices and the service becomes less and I hope The Font can maintain these standards indefinitely so I can remain a loyal and happy consumer of their wares! As for the "orange tree comment" it is my understanding that the owner of the font used to work for them and was the creative mind behind the things that made the orange tree so successful, am I wrong? So I would argue that it is the orange tree that need to think for themselves and create something new and not live in the "font creators box" as surely the font is simply the continuation of what he does??

[report for removal]  

26/04/2012 16:31:55

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

I think this pub all round offers more than any other place in Leicester. The drinks are all top line but a more than reasonable prices. I went in on a saturday night an saw people drawing on boards, loads of DJs, arcade machines and video games scattered around the place. The lady behind the bar was more than happy to talk to me about the place. I went back on the sunday for a roast dinner, and it was just amazing. It's the best roast I've had in years, and it was only £10 for three courses!!

I can't believe it's been there for nearly two years and I've only just found it. I've lived in Leicester all my life, and it's good to see a place that offers more than standard booze and an overpriced wordy food menu. The Font seem like they're offering more of a service rather than just other pubs in town.

I'm very proud to be a new loyal customer. See you soon for a couple of ales!! (Can't wait for the new ones!!)

Eric.

[report for removal]  

26/04/2012 16:29:15

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

My first impressions of The Font pub in Leicester were that it was like no other pub I had been in in Leicester , it had a quite sincerity about it that you'd expect by a independent that had its heart in the right place. The is nothing commercial about The Font! There is imaginative thinking pouring from every orifis .The hand painted murals and the art, music really appealed to me and the food is amazing, i tried the 'Deli Board' very unique, tasty and a great price, perfect with my Strawberry beer. It's a place that feels loved and that appears to love each one of its customers. I'll definately being going back if only all pubs had so much soul x

[report for removal]  

26/04/2012 16:22:36

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

i like the font a lot..good food, good booze and good people, what more do you want from a bar?!...maybe whoever wrote the first review needs to 'think outside the orange box' and get on with their life?

[report for removal]  

26/04/2012 16:15:45

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

The Font is a seriously cool place.. Very London.. An amazing Oasis for Those in the know..defo the best place on the uni bar crawl circuit..great buzz, super cool and friendly staff and amazing cocktails! Love it! Long live The Font!

[report for removal]  

11/05/2011 09:01:22

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

The food menu offers very little difference from anywhere else in leicester in the same price bracket, although it is very well done (this just shows they have a good chef at the helm) and care is taken over this it is almost as pedestrian as the Cocktail menu, which has nothing new to showcase, and seems about 10-15 years too late to be thought of as remotely contemporary

As unfortunate as it is; all this new opening has shown is that nobody can think outside of the "orange box" and implement something real and less transient, promoting discerning Dining and Drinking

You have to ask yourself, is this as discerning as it gets?

I certainly hope not

[report for removal]