The Highfield

Got an opinion on this bar? Why not write a review

Has this bar closed down or changed name?  Let us know

Are you the Licencee? Click here

47 Highfield Lane, Portswood,  Southampton

SO17 1QD

023 8055 5985

Area of Southampton: Portswood


This pub is included in 4 user created pub crawls

See user created pub crawls in Southampton

Photo of The Highfield
Think you've got a better photo? [Upload a photo]
Show Pub Using Street View

Facilities

  • Serves FoodServes Food
  • Has Garden/Outside SeatingGarden/Outside Seating
  • Has a Pool TablePool Table
  • Children WelcomeChildren Welcome
  • Disabled AccessDisabled Access
  • Free WIFIWIFI
  • AmusementsAmusements

Are the facilities incorrect?  Edit them!

Ratings

Your Ratings
Overall:
3.6/5 (50 Votes)
1 5
Food:
3.5/5 (53 Votes)
1 5
Atmosphere:
3.5/5 (53 Votes)
1 5
Beer Quality:
3.6/5 (49 Votes)
1 5
Drinks Selection:

(real ales, wine etc)

3.8/5 (45 Votes)
1 5

Near By Pubs

Nearest first: The Crown Inn

Looking for a Hotel near The Highfield? How about something to eat?

Reviews

07/04/2012 04:57:15

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

Why has the highfield been closed down untill further notice.the new landlady was doing so well,certainly a vast improvement on the previous couple and there screaming child.The food had vastly improved and she had great plans for the summer including a street party for the jubilee but suddenly got made redundant which came as a huge shock to us regulars.(they could not afford her)she worked 60 plus hrs a week open till close what more do greedy Licencee's want. BLOOD.

[report for removal]  

30/12/2011 23:09:38

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

Visted tis pub for the first time today with my family,what a great place,Sue the lady behind the bar could not have been more helpful...She gave useful informormation about the pub and the menu.The food was very good.she also made sure we had everything we needed as my mother was disabled and went out of her way to order a taxi and give us directions.

[report for removal]  

30/12/2011 11:38:12

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

Have seen this place go from my favourite place to go to a place where there is no skysports and strange customer service. The guy who seems to often serve at the pub makes same joke every time and its not even funny apparently the drink I ordered costs £20 soon followed by, you think i'm joking. Especially annoying if you just want to go in for a quick drink it seems like such an effort. Was served by a different barman another time and made exactly the same joke. Nothing unique anymore can get all better at other pubs. Very sad that this pub seems to have gone so far downhill over the past few years. This was the 1st pub I went to because it was the only one in the area with Itv Digital, everytime I go in it seems empty. Was speaking to a friend who said she took her children there and just felt like they were inconveniencing them by being there. It always used to be no effort for them. Going in at some point this week hope it is better.

[report for removal]  

03/10/2011 21:51:16

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

Good pub food, very welcoming and they even remembered that I can't have onions!

[report for removal]  

27/04/2011 16:52:04

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

Over the last 4 years we have visited this pub on a regular basis on our way home from work, two years ago we stopped for a period of 9mths because of the 'non friendly customers and management'..we have now been going into the pub for over six months, several times a week for a drink and food,The new management are great, they have turned the place into a family environment(kids welcome). The food and service is great....

We would recommend this to everyone....A local pub for local people,please support them.

[report for removal]  

21/02/2011 20:32:54

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

This is a very welcoming place to enjoy a quiet drink or a spot of kareoke as a birthday celebration! The food is good quality and well priced. The new carvery is great. As a girl I feel very safe and comfortable to visit and enjoy a cup of tea and some by the fire without being hassled. As this is the closest pub to my home I'll enjoy a good few nights out there in the future.

[report for removal]  

11/01/2011 14:34:01

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

ive been here a few times now its warm friendly and very welcoming. the food is well worth the money and very very tasty a good pub grub menu. well worth a visit,

[report for removal]  

22/12/2010 20:37:49

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

Visted the Highfield today by recomendation from the hotel we were staying at. Very welcoming, cozy with the log fire and candle on the tables, very pleasent atmosphere and very welcoming and helpful staff. The meal was fantastic, filling and the price was very reasonable to. I would definatly recommend the pub and if we visit the area again will definatly return.

[report for removal]  

20/12/2010 18:26:42

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

The Best Time I have had in ages!! We went along to The Highfield for our Christmas meal. All 65 of us!! And I have to say the meal was perfect and excellent value, the service was fantastic and the pub was very inviting with nice decor! We had the Christmas Fayre menu and I have to say the sirloin steak was cooked to perfection, well done Chef! and well done Team Highfield, you definatly have another 65 loyal regulars, and we are definatly booking our next events with you!

[report for removal]  

14/12/2010 12:04:38

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

Oh dear, one never to visit again. Dreadful quality food, we tried to complain but the so called chef could not speak English. Cold plates, lumpy not properly cooked lasagna and a curry with almost cold rice. The meals went back twice for correction - any decently run establishment would have completely replaced them and perhaps offered a glass of wine as a compensation. After heating up the rice the curry by then had chilled and was uneatable. The eating area was cold and chilly and 10 students at an adjoining table were conducting a conversation that you could have listened to 5 miles away.

[report for removal]  

06/09/2010 10:57:31

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

This place has definately become one of the finest pubs around Southampton when taken by new management. The food is to die for, new menu and all. The drinks are fresh, the place is clean, good music and decent people in there :)

I will definately be using this pub alot

[report for removal]  

05/09/2010 22:41:04

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

I live very close and have refused to use this pub for various reasons but new management have taken over and the place seems to finally have decent people running it, ive been in a few times over last couple weeks and found them to be very friendly and able i can finally use the pub nearest to me long may they stay

[report for removal]  

11/07/2010 08:00:44

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

Came to The Highfield today for a meal and found it is at last under new ownership, a couple that seem to have all the right ideas I will definatly be going back again as the food was excellent and exciting things seem to be planned for the place, well worth a look in

[report for removal]  


Beer Hawke