Got an opinion on this bar? Why not write a review

Has this bar closed down or changed name?  Let us know

Are you the Licencee? Click here

Bridgnorth Rd, Shipley,  Wolverhampton

WV6 7EH

01902 700376


See user created pub crawls in Wolverhampton

Photo of The Fox Inn at Shipley
Think you've got a better photo? [Upload a photo]
Show Pub Using Street View

Facilities

  • Serves FoodServes Food
  • Has Garden/Outside SeatingGarden/Outside Seating
  • Has Live MusicLive Music
  • Shows SportShows Sport
  • Big ScreenHas A Big Screen TV(s)
  • Children WelcomeChildren Welcome
  • Disabled AccessDisabled Access

Are the facilities incorrect?  Edit them!

Ratings

Your Ratings
Overall:
3.4/5 (23 Votes)
1 5
Food:
3.4/5 (23 Votes)
1 5
Atmosphere:
3.3/5 (23 Votes)
1 5
Beer Quality:
3.7/5 (19 Votes)
1 5
Drinks Selection:

(real ales, wine etc)

3.7/5 (20 Votes)
1 5

Near By Pubs

Looking for a Hotel near The Fox Inn at Shipley?

Reviews

18/05/2012 08:02:09

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

If you love microwave food please eat at the fox the only thing that is cooked to order is the steak which is a really poor quality one at that

[report for removal]  

18/05/2012 07:59:21

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

i wouldnt eat there even if somebody paid me too

[report for removal]  

10/03/2012 13:26:42

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

Our table was not ready for 20 minutes after our booking and we had to stand with children at a busy bar and some of our party had a hot drink to hold!

I ordered the rump steak, medium to well done, I cut into it and it was raw in the centre and very bloody so sent back.

It was returned to me the 2nd time, still quite bloody.

The third time a new steak was cooked with the comment : 'Chef says that if you come here again, order it well done!'.

By this time, my family had finished eating.

My steak was burnt and like rubber, as were the onion rings. The chips, not only on my meal, but on our family member's plates looked either like warm-up's or like they had been cooked in dirty oil.

The meal was left hardlt touched.Compensation??? Well I was offered a free icecream dessert, of which my child ate. I went home for a bacon sandwich!

[report for removal]  

28/02/2012 00:50:49

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

2 for 1 meals is the selling point to all people that was rubbish at Mathis at school !, but not even I am that thick to rialise that a sizzling chicken could cost anymore than £8 at any normal village pub..so why at the fox is it a amazing £17.95 per person ??????? a: oh yes it's 2 for 1 ??? Personally I think they see there customers as complete thick heads & a laughing stock .. Frozen chips too ..yum yum ..AMAZING !

[report for removal]  

29/12/2011 16:43:51

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

We love The Fox, always great food. Cant fault it, we go every week, more when we can and usually a lunch time as we get a roast dinner for £3.95. cant cook it yourself for that!

[report for removal]  

09/12/2011 17:53:30

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

Our first visit to The Fox last night we all had a very enjoyable evening. The food arrived piping hot, the waitress was very helpful and friendly and we will be going back again for sure. Mr and Mrs Jackson & friends

[report for removal]  

22/11/2011 00:47:46

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

very rude landlord on sunday,20 november will not be returning

[report for removal]  

26/09/2011 17:16:29

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

My family enjoyed some lovely meals here in the past.

Recently however recently the food has been very dissapointing.

I will not be going back until I hear of a change of management or chef.

[report for removal]  

27/08/2011 11:12:19

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

Probably the worst service I have experienced for a long long time !!!!

Offhand couldn't care less attitude .Asked for desserts and coffees and was told to go order at the bar , where one person was slowly serving a lot of customers , whilst the rest of the staff were clearing up wanting to leave !

The food was poor also !!!!!!!!!

[report for removal]  

30/06/2011 17:47:14

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

just had a meal here from their 2 for 1 menu. We had the T bone steak meal at £19.99. They need to change their meat supplier as a more fat & gristle laden piece of steak would be hard to find. Also a tiny pot of peppercorn sauce for £1.95 is not good. I'm old enough to realise that pub owners ramp up the price of a meal to cover these "offers" but you have a right to expect a decent standard of ingredients. Won't be going there again......

[report for removal]  

18/01/2011 18:16:23

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

On a previous lunchtime visit to the Fox we had the £5 meal of fish & chips which was fine. When we returned on a Saturday lunchtime this January for a celebration we found a completely different situation. The pub was obviously under staffed because we had to wait an hour for the main course and I overheard a waitress telling another group the she could not get in touch with the manageress. The food was all overcooked and of original poor quality. My steak was hard and had those bitter black stripes across it, which I assume is from previous meats being burnt, so I had to leave it. Overall, despitr being two for one offers it represents poor value if you don't enjoy the food. I won't be taking the family there again.

[report for removal]  

09/09/2010 19:05:39

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

I have to agree with Derek. Great food, We had gammon and egg for £10 for the two and it was one of the best gammons ive had. We will be making regular trips to The Fox. Alan Rodgers

[report for removal]  

06/09/2010 20:22:37

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

This is a great pub and we go there all the time, the kids love it and so does the wife!! Food is always great and there is always an offer to be had which we do take advantage of as they have a great choice. 5+ from me. Derek Mason.

[report for removal]  

08/04/2010 07:30:55

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

I paid my 4th visit to the Fox last night and was very disappointed.

Previously the food had been excellent value for money, hot and tasty. Unfortunately last night it was not. I ordered the mushrooms with stilton & pepper sauce, it was luke warm and the stilton was a cold lump sat on soggy bread.

My main dish was the Mediterrean veg risotto; it had been stirred up and microwaved in a bowl which was burnt around the egdges. A 'tail end' of a baguette was served as the garlic bread along with chips that were 'dumped' on the side without any hint of any salad garnish. My other half had the rump steak which he said was 'average'. On the whole a very disappointing visit to the Fox; I mentioned this to the waitress but doubt whether it will make any difference. The Fox is off my list.

[report for removal]