The Marlborough

Got an opinion on this bar? Why not write a review

Has this bar closed down or changed name?  Let us know

Are you the Licencee? Click here

4 Princes Street,  Brighton & Hove

BN2 1RD

01273 570028

Area of Brighton & Hove: City Centre, Kemp Town


This pub is included in 6 user created pub crawls

See user created pub crawls in Brighton & Hove

Photo of The Marlborough
Think you've got a better photo? [Upload a photo]
Show Pub Using Street View

Facilities

  • Serves FoodServes Food
  • Has Live MusicLive Music
  • Has Quiz NightsQuiz Night (Mondays - Weekly)
  • Has a Pool TablePool Table
  • Shows SportShows Sport
  • Dogs Are AllowedDogs Allowed
  • DJsDJs

Are the facilities incorrect?  Edit them!

Ratings

Your Ratings
Overall:
3.1/5 (35 Votes)
1 5
Food:
2.9/5 (22 Votes)
1 5
Atmosphere:
3.0/5 (37 Votes)
1 5
Beer Quality:
2.8/5 (33 Votes)
1 5
Drinks Selection:

(real ales, wine etc)

3.0/5 (34 Votes)
1 5

Reviews

20/02/2013 18:07:43

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

Stop talking bad this pub is lovely im a str8 guy but much prefer this pub to others very friendly

Staff n customers. Beer brilliant, so what bout dogs nice to see a pub that allows them.

I love the malborough n im goin ther tonite.

[report for removal]  

28/05/2012 03:14:14

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

i don't know why it's being slagged off..i've used the Marlborough (or the BRA as it's affectionately known!) for quite some years on my trips toYES,M Brighton!

i look forward to the visit!

The beer/drinks aren't over-priced - and certainly not in comparison to London! - and the Staff are friendly! i can't comment on the food, as i have never bought any (DO they do food?!)

The wc's are a bit on the small side..but, come on! if we got a refurb the PRICES WOULD GO UP AND ALL THE ATMOSPHERE LOST!

WE DON'T WANT A PUB LIKE ALL THE REST..WE WANT OUR OWN DRINKING DEN!

WE DON'T WANT ANOTHER CANDY, DO WE??

WE DON'T MIND OUR FLEA-PIT (WELL, IT IS A BIT LIKE THAT - NOW YOU MENTION IT!) - AND WE LIKE THE VARIETY OF SHOWS AND NIGHTS IT'S PUTS ON!

AND..THE MARLBOROUGH MADAMS (IT'S OWN THEATRE TROUPE!)

LEAVE THE BRA ALONE!!!

LET'S KEEP IT AND ENJOY IT - IT'S ONE OF A KIND!

6C4AV

[report for removal]  

17/08/2011 11:36:23

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

horrible dirty pub - my friend got food poisoning and loads of people complain about the beer tasting awful (do they ever clean the pipes?).

Surly attitude by bar staff and the security staff are brutes.

The place needs a complete refurbishment and new management. I refuse to go there anymore.

[report for removal]  

19/05/2009 09:51:34

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

The Marlborough isn't your usual poncey place!!! it's a local and does it's best to keep everyone entertained, yes lesbian but also gay, Trans, student or theatre go'er!. yeah it's a little shabby around the edges but that adds to the character, as mentioned before it is older than the Pavillion therefore it takes a lot more money to keep it spotless if it had an overhaul it would lose it's character, you want that go to the PV round the corner with the prententious, cliquey dykes, who barely pass the time of day with you, including the staff!!! The Marlborough is welcoming and if your new to the place you won't be for long! There is only 2 Lesbian pubs in the center of Brighton instead of running them down with negative comments, why not support them because before long everywhere will be your run of the mill...half hearted club or gastro pub!!!

[report for removal]  

03/03/2009 12:24:03

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

Culd do with more than tlc. Needs fumigating.

[report for removal]  

25/02/2009 05:57:10

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

I really like this place. Has real character and the staff are easy to talk to. The landlady was really nice and told me about the history of the place. Said it was older than the Pavilion and showed me around the pub and theater. She then introduced me to some or the regulars who were also very nice. Beer was cheap too.

[report for removal]  

01/02/2009 15:55:40

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

I agree with the last review, much improved. Could do with some tlc however. I'm sure that will soon follow. I've been in there a few times since the new management took over and think they are doing a good job given what they had to work with. Look forward to seeing what they're gonna do with the place. Keep up the good work people!

[report for removal]  

29/01/2009 20:52:50

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

The pub changed hands late 2008. Oh my god what an improvement!! It is now warm, welcoming, and friendly. The average age is 30's and 40's, so has lost that rough feeling. More of a local than a pre-party. I moved to brighton 5 years ago and have met more nice people there in the last 2 months, than the whole 5 years. I give it a 5 star rating.

[report for removal]  

11/01/2009 09:31:30

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

Rough? Rough doesn't even begin to describe this place.

Nasty. I didn't think pubs like this existed any more: and not in a good way.

[report for removal]  

22/11/2008 14:14:52

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

Have to agree with the last review.

This place is really run down rough and unwelcoming.

Go to the PV which is just round the corner. Much more friendly smart and relaxed.

[report for removal]  

16/11/2008 00:29:26

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

I was told this was one of the best lesbian bars in Brighton so I went with my girlfriend. Shit! If this is the best Brighton has to ofer then Im sticking with Portsmouth. What a fleapit. Must be all the dogs running around - and yes there are the four legged kind too. Who wants that when youre having a quiet pint? Fuckin dogs running around and barking everywhere? And the owners are..... well lets say they're ruff! Diesel dykes with bad attitude mate.

Beer was flat too and overpriced. Avoid this dump.

[report for removal]  


Beer Hawke