Piper On The Square

Previously Named:  The Edge

Got an opinion on this bar? Why not write a review

Has this bar closed down or changed name?  Let us know

Are you the Licencee? Click here

Cochrane Street,  Glasgow

G1 1HL

Area of Glasgow: Queen Street


This pub is included in 2 user created pub crawls

See user created pub crawls in Glasgow

Photo of Piper On The Square
Think you've got a better photo? [Upload a photo]
Show Pub Using Street View

Facilities

  • Serves FoodServes Food
  • Has Live MusicLive Music
  • Has Quiz NightsQuiz Night (Mondays - Weekly)
  • Big ScreenHas A Big Screen TV(s)
  • Children WelcomeChildren Welcome
  • Free WIFIWIFI
  • AmusementsAmusements
  • DancefloorDancefloor
  • DJsDJs

Are the facilities incorrect?  Edit them!

Ratings

Your Ratings
Overall:
4.2/5 (50 Votes)
1 5
Food:
4.3/5 (45 Votes)
1 5
Atmosphere:
4.3/5 (48 Votes)
1 5
Beer Quality:
4.0/5 (42 Votes)
1 5
Drinks Selection:

(real ales, wine etc)

4.3/5 (46 Votes)
1 5

Reviews

25/07/2011 16:54:58

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

Visit Sat 23/07/11. We had a fantastic time here Saturday afternoon. 5 lovely ladies out to celebrate my mothers birthday. Food was fab, staff very attentive nothing was too much bother and Drew kept us all singing, Dancing and laughing all afternoon. Can't wait to go back. 10 out of 10 for everyone x

[report for removal]  

04/07/2011 01:24:12

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

Had brilliant day out at the piper staff and owner very welcoming, food excellent. Atmosphere very relaxed, singer and dj excellent very funny guys. Owner bit crazy wearing his jacket when it was 25 degrees outside very funny, great blackcurrent shots. Service second to none will be back as a regular. Thoroughly enjoyable experience

[report for removal]  

18/01/2011 10:26:57

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

Went to a 50th birthday party here and had an enjoyable night with friends however beware. I later went outside to have a cigarette and was told by the doorman i wasn't allowed back in and his reason for this was I had had enough to drink. It was around 11:30 and I had a a few drinks but did'nt feel in any way out of control. I accepted that he wasn't letting me in but he would not allow me to get my coat or bag. It was pouring outside plus I needed to get home therefor I needed my purse, housekeys ect. Given that recently there have been woman attacked in the area I feel I was put in a very dangerous situation. When I asked if they would call the police to sort out the situation they refused. This place should be avoided at all cost.

[report for removal]  

14/08/2010 20:34:19

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

great bar great atmosphere freindly bar staff made most welcome definatly worth the visit . Brian and his staff are the most fantastic lot i have met in a pub , game for a laugh and fun , helped us out for a lot of nights oot for charity raising events an we cannot fault them or the pub .

recomendations are that this pub is a MUST SEE AN VISIT ya canni beat the hospitality of it .

susan xxxxx

[report for removal]  

04/08/2010 10:12:15

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

my husband and myself, visited this pub for a drink in july of this year although we live in glasgow we have never visited it before so we gave it a try. after havin a drink we asked where the toilet was, the barman gave us a funny look and told us were they were. on comeing back as we went to leave the barman said to us in a catty manner next time ask if you can use the toilets there for customers only . i proceeded to let him know we had just finished a drink. and that his attitude had embarressed us. so just beware that you make yourself known before asking for the toilets in this pub.

[report for removal]  

11/03/2010 18:05:31

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

its a great place

[report for removal]  

06/07/2009 13:24:44

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

We travelled from Birmingham to Glasgow last weekend and on the recommendation of our host went to 'The Piper'. Brian had reserved a table for us and we spent a very enjoyable few hours in there. The entertainment was excellent, the staff were fabulous and catered for everything we asked for and the food was lovely. Our weekend was extremely brilliant, excellent accommodation, food and we will definitely be heading to the Piper to spend our evenings.

Tracie - Birmingham

[report for removal]  

04/07/2009 16:38:12

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

This place is amazing, just off of George Square. If you like something different this is the place to go, bit of everything. Can't put finger on it, but well worth a visit.

Food was out of this world, try the Sticky toffee pudding - Heaven!!!

It was a Sataurday afternoon and town was busy, had been in pub prevoiusly when egde and would have to say will be going back again as Piper. Very nice and made to feel welcome with Staff and Management, didn't know what to expect and there was various different ages not somewhere that would have thought of. x

[report for removal]  

15/06/2009 14:28:59

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

As a tourist on an extended stay I was made extremely welcome at the Piper. The food is fresh, specials inventive and atmosphere very friendly. You can sit alone with a laptop or go for the frequent music nights, Thursday and Saturday are excellent live singers. Pub quiz is addictive and well presented.

Thanks to the new owners, this corner pub no longer looks scary, but inviting.

[report for removal]  

28/08/2008 11:51:03

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

Great new and clean "Traditional" feel about this place. A massive improvement inside with attention paid in particular to customers comfort with couches sprinkled around the fireplace and background music for tastes. The food good old fashioned "Pub Grub' without a hint of pretention, unlike the plethors of so-called "style Bars" and nearby overpriced restaurants! From the minute we entered and spoke with the staff and management we felt right at home with all the coreect boxes ticked, this is a must visit for a good drink, food and good banter with the staff who were all fantastic!

Must be something about the fact that they are not trying to be anything other than just a bar, makes a change from the fake and faceless places we have come to accept, especially arounf the "Merchant City" areas. Any tourists or visitors would get a real feel for glasweigans in this impressive new addition to George sqaure!

[report for removal]  


Beer Hawke