Got an opinion on this bar? Why not write a review

Has this bar closed down or changed name?  Let us know

Are you the Licencee? Click here

17 Jackson's Row, Manchester,  Manchester

M2 5WD

0161 832 4315

Area of Manchester: Deansgate, Peter Street


This pub is included in 33 user created pub crawls

See user created pub crawls in Manchester

Upload a Photo of The Old Nag's Head
No photo for this pub yet. [Upload a photo]
Show Pub Using Street View

Facilities

  • Has Garden/Outside SeatingGarden/Outside Seating
  • Has a Pool TablePool Table
  • DartsHas A Dart Board
  • Shows SportShows Sport
  • Big ScreenHas A Big Screen TV(s)
  • Children WelcomeChildren Welcome
  • Disabled AccessDisabled Access
  • AmusementsAmusements
  • DJsDJs
  • JukeboxJukebox

Are the facilities incorrect?  Edit them!

Ratings

Your Ratings
Overall:
2.1/5 (118 Votes)
1 5
Atmosphere:
2.0/5 (114 Votes)
1 5
Beer Quality:
1.5/5 (113 Votes)
1 5
Drinks Selection:

(real ales, wine etc)

1.5/5 (112 Votes)
1 5

Reviews

05/01/2012 10:13:50

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

This place has gone down the nick.

Very dark inside. Does this mean there hiding the dirt and grime??

This pub looks as if its used by the local villians........

[report for removal]  

15/02/2011 13:20:24

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

This pub is getting better with the new owners. I will start using this pub again now the old owner has now left.

[report for removal]  

10/12/2010 10:25:10

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

This place is just your average pub. with only 2 ales on offer, this place is for the lager drinker really. both pump clips were turned around when I called in this week, with hardly anyone in this place was like a ghost town, but was late afternoon. I would give it another try the next time I'm in Manchester.

[report for removal]  

23/08/2010 12:30:26

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

Never any ale on at this place! we now cut out this pub from our ale trail!

[report for removal]  

26/05/2010 09:30:12

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

No ale again last night. looking at the reveiews about this place and i must say none of them are good. why is this place still open? Heaven Knows but i dont think it would be too long before its shut.

[report for removal]  

25/05/2010 08:37:06

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

Called into the Nags Head last night and again had no cask ale. Every time I call into this place the pump clips are always turned around.This pub is shocking for a city centre pub. That was the last time i will be going in there!

[report for removal]  

04/05/2010 16:39:55

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

4/5/10 NO ALE AND NO FOOD.

[report for removal]  

22/04/2010 16:21:42

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

this place is always dead. Ales are never on. the managers / owners whoever they are, are so busy banging on about how it WAS the best pub in manchester 2007 that they have forgotton about the upkeep of the place. the list as follows....

1. it stinks when you walk in (musty)

2. Ale is never on.

3. the place is dirty.

4. never anyone in the place during the week.

5. food was horrible

6. waited to get served 10mins. (and the place was empty)

7. staff were more concerned about what they did on the weekend.

8. Last but not least........ VERY EXPENCIVE!!!!

[report for removal]  

07/04/2010 14:16:15

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

I was in the Old Nags Head on Saturday 03/04/2010 and for no reason what so ever they just closed the pub with no warning and was told to get out now.

having just bought my pint (it was shit anyway!) i had to leave it. I asked the barmaid why everyone had to leave she said that there was too many people in the pub!???? Ha! thats the funniest thing ive heard "your pubs full and you shut it!"

This place has become a joke to Manchester!

Left by the back door and wondered into a nearby pub, which was also busy but at least it didnt shut!

diabolical pub.

[report for removal]  

30/03/2010 10:09:30

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

popped in last night as it was the start of the cask ale week 2010.

as i walked in the place the pub was empty. went to buy an old speckled hen and the pump clip was turned round! this place had no cask ale on in cask ale week! who ever owns / runs this place? Laural & Hardy?

popped in the place accross the road and they had 5 ales on with the pub fully decked out in ballons and big banners and bunting! (oh and the place accross the road where i ended up was packed! I wonder why???)

GET A GRIP NAGS!

[report for removal]  

18/03/2010 10:22:36

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

Horrible pub. everythings dirty even the beer. stunk to high heaven!

Stay away........

[report for removal]  

03/02/2010 09:56:41

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

Smelt very musty. looks dirty and the place looks worn. place is ok but far better pubs around the nags!

[report for removal]  

01/02/2010 16:23:05

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

Shite pub! stayed here at the weekend and it was smelly and dirty. what a dive.

[report for removal]  

08/01/2010 16:13:25

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

The cask ales are never on in this place. been in all week this week and no ale.

i wish the owner would sell the pub to someone who knows how to run a pub!

[report for removal]  

15/12/2009 09:59:05

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

Paid £3.60 for a pint of carling! Ripoff! will not be going back. I think this place come february will be shut at these prices.

Good Luck Nags Head! YOU WILL NEED IT.

[report for removal]  

06/12/2009 12:34:21

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

Bad, Bad, Bad place to go. I paid £3.60 for a pint of carling last night and the barmaid took her own tip when i didnt say she could! I got talking to a bloke who is a regular in there and he told me that the Nags Head put up there prices at the weekend while the market is on. I think this is a discrace. The regular pointed out the owner of the Nags Head and he was happy just to sit at the end of the bar and do nothing while the 2 staff on the bar were snowed under! this pub was very short staffed for the busy period took me 25 mins to get served!

take my advice stay way fron this pub!

[report for removal]  

16/10/2009 08:43:11

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

Not a very good place. food is cheep and nasty and the beer was flat. showing greek tv to (classy) avoid this place not that good.

Mick

[report for removal]  

19/03/2009 01:44:55

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

Our office nomimates 1 person every week to choose our Friday lunch outing. This week was my turn and i chose the nags head because we've heard good and bad. We waited ages to be served, but the food came quite quick. No food complaints, gorge panini's! Would return, maybe 50/50.

[report for removal]