The Rising Sun

Got an opinion on this bar? Why not write a review

Has this bar closed down or changed name?  Let us know

Are you the Licencee? Click here

22 Queen Street,  Manchester

M2 5HX

0161 834 1193

Area of Manchester: Deansgate, Peter Street


This pub is included in 45 user created pub crawls

See user created pub crawls in Manchester

Photo of The Rising Sun
Think you've got a better photo? [Upload a photo]
Show Pub Using Street View

Facilities

  • Serves FoodServes Food
  • Shows SportShows Sport
  • Big ScreenHas A Big Screen TV(s)
  • Free WIFIWIFI
  • AmusementsAmusements
  • JukeboxJukebox

Are the facilities incorrect?  Edit them!

Ratings

Your Ratings
Overall:
5.0/5 (206 Votes)
1 5
Food:
5.0/5 (205 Votes)
1 5
Atmosphere:
5.0/5 (205 Votes)
1 5
Beer Quality:
5.0/5 (205 Votes)
1 5
Drinks Selection:

(real ales, wine etc)

5.0/5 (205 Votes)
1 5

Reviews

26/06/2012 23:42:00

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

GOOD CASK BEER

GOOD PUB

GOOD FOOD

I DONT NEED TO SAY ANYNORE!

[report for removal]  

21/01/2011 10:48:29

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

Great pub sat around some dreadful public houses, always a very good pint in here, i can never walk past without popping in.

[report for removal]  

15/12/2010 10:12:51

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

Its quite pricey but ale top notch!

[report for removal]  

26/10/2010 16:57:42

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

Nice to see the M.D of the Moorhouse's brewery present at the presentation of the pub of the season award last week.

Good pub with excellent ales.

Its good to see pubs like this one win awards like that.

[report for removal]  

25/10/2010 12:48:36

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

Good place to go at dinner times. As an RBS employee past and present employees congregate here. Always busy with very good beers on tap.

[report for removal]  

19/10/2010 19:17:23

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

Good ale, always a good pint at the sun. Well run looking place with 5 handpulls

[report for removal]  

24/09/2010 16:20:02

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

good place to go. they had a lancaster ale fest on when i popped in this week. very good beer, and night. 10 out of 10 for beer quality!

[report for removal]  

23/08/2010 12:29:14

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

THE RISING SUN HAS JUST BEEN MADE CAMRA PUB OF THE SEASON! WELL DONE TO THEM AS THEY SERVE A GOOD PINT! WELL DONE!

JEFF

[report for removal]  

05/07/2010 11:10:05

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

On the 23rd June The Rising Sun had a moorhouses day! 5 Cask beers from moorhouses (Black cat, blonde witch, pride of Pendle, premier bitter & the rising sun own ale brewed by moorhouses)

All ales were superb! the Rising Sun Ale was also excellent! What a fantastic day this was with the football on to! Mr David Grant was also there (The MD from the Moorhouses brewery)

To sum up...... Fantastic pub with fantastic ales! Love the place.

[report for removal]  

26/05/2010 09:37:19

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

Exellent pub with lots of choice. 5 cask beers on offer and well up there in quailty. I had half of every cask and they were spot on. Lancaster Blonde, Moorhouses Pride of Pendle, Timmy talors Landlord Blacksheep best bitter And also a mild Twates's Nutty Black.(which is a rareaty if you dont go in to holts's Houses.) Good place to go and will be calling back very soon. this place is a real gem.

:)

[report for removal]  

06/04/2010 21:08:25

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

I'm always in the Rising Sun. one week i noticed a poster advertising a meet the brewer night with the Lancaster Brewery. I went along and what a night. all 4 lancaster beers on( Amber, Blonde, Red, & Black) all which were perfect. the owner of the brewery "matt" was brilliant. with free food, raffle and also beer on offer it was a GREAT night. I asked the manager will he be having another meet the brewer and hes planning one in November. guys... what a night the food was exellent and i cant remember getting home! (good job as the wife was shouting at me (apparently) when i got in)

P.S camra and other breweries were also there! what a night well done the sun and keep it up!

EXELLENT PUB!

[report for removal]  

30/03/2010 10:18:30

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

Excellent pub. me and work friends went in the Rising Sun last night as it was cask ale week, 5 good beers on, and the pub was decorated from top to bottom! Well done excellent pub

[report for removal]  

16/03/2010 10:57:26

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

i sneeked in to this pub while my wife was shopping over the weekend, and i had a pint of Old Engine Oil (Dark cask ale) which was brilliant.

as im from leeds, i will be taking my wife for more shopping trips just so i can pop in here!

What a class pub.

[report for removal]  

15/03/2010 12:30:06

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

Great pub. Started to sell Timothy Taylors Landlord which I must say was very good. the Rising Sun has beeb painted since the last time i came and it looks fantastic. Always very clean and the staff are always great. when i was last in last month the owner of the Moorhouse's brewery was drinking in here and also the owner of the Lancaster brewery also bobs in for a pint so ive been told. When i do come in from London i have to have a curry (With 1/2 + 1/2!) Very good food.

[report for removal]  

03/02/2010 09:42:44

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

good little pub very clean. ale was 100% as always.

[report for removal]  

08/01/2010 16:19:11

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

Good little pub with a good atmosphear. The beer was very good and a good range of cask ales too. The owner and manager and the staff are very polite and very chatty. Good all round pub. I missed the food which ive heard is very good but will try and get in sooner when im in from London.

This place is a credit to the lads who Own / Run it.

[report for removal]  

07/12/2009 19:15:11

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

Cracking Real Ale Pub. 5 cask beers on all, I have to say were perfect.

It was very busy when i went in as the Manchester Markets were on. will pop in again for a pint!

CRACKING PUB!

[report for removal]  

16/10/2009 08:46:08

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

Cracking pub, very clean with good staff. this pub is very warm and the food and the cask ale is superb. this is one of the best pubs in manchester for the football with no idiots.

love this place

Sophie & Robert

[report for removal]  

12/08/2009 10:22:03

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

Cracking pub, thats all i can say! food menu is 100% the cask ale is exellent 10/10! Very busy pub, and we got served quickly as there were 3 staff on. Tried to get served in the Old Nags Head and waited 10 mins so we walked out. will be going to the Rising Sun again.

well run and very clean.

Helen & Matt

[report for removal]  


Beer Hawke